Fashion - December 5, 2023

Everything You Need to Know About the British Fashion Awards 2023


The British Fashion Council (BFC) announced last night in London – at the iconic Royal Albert Hall – the winners of “The Fashion Awards 2023” (TFA), presented by Pandora. This event, organized by the BFC, is the main source of fundraising for the BFC Foundation Charity and also tells the role played by the fashion system in today’s society. So, once again this year, we got to know the best creative talents of the moment.

The evening was hosted by Maya Jama and artist Kojey Radical and saw the presentation of 16 awards. The TFA nominees and winners were chosen by an international jury of 1000 industry experts. The red carpet was presented by the renowned stylist Law Roach and fashion critic Julia Hobbs.

One of the most beloved moments of this award ceremony was undoubtedly the recognition dedicated to Valentino Garavani, honored for his exceptional contribution to fashion. The celebration came to life with a real parade of the 24 most iconic red dresses of all time. Actress Gwyneth Paltrow had the honor of presenting the award to her longtime friend, Mr. Giancarlo Giammetti – the Italian entrepreneur, artistic collaborator, business partner, and life companion of Valentino.

Each winner received a unique award, designed by the stylist, artistic director, and winner of the NEW WAVE: Creative 2022 award, Julie Liu, created in collaboration with the British glass production company World of Glass. Meanwhile, the official portraits of all the winners were captured by the lens of the Ghanaian photographer and previous NEW WAVE: Creative award winner, Derrick Ofosu Boateng.


Designer of the Year Award: Jonathan Anderson;

British Womenswear Designer Award: Maximilian Davis x Ferragamo;

British Menswear Designer Award: Martine Rose x Martine Rose;

BFC Foundation Designer Award: Conner Ives;

New Establishment Womenswear Award: Emma Chopova and Laura Lowena x Chopova Lowena;

New Establishment Menswear Award: Bianca Saunders;

Outstanding Achievement Award: Valentino Garavani;

Model of the Year Award: Paloma Elsesser;

Special Recognition Award for Contribution to the Fashion Industry: Charlotte Tilbury;

Special Recognition Award for Championing Young Designer Talent: Sarah Mower;

Special Recognition Award: Sarah Burton;

Posthumous Special Recognition Award: Joe Casely-Hayford;

Cultural Innovator Award: Sam Smith;

Trailblazer Award: Edward Enninful;

The Pandora Leader of Change Award: Michaela Coel;

Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator: Campbell Addy.

Images courtesy of brands

Top 5
Boss’s New Capsule Collection in Collaboration with Naomi Campbell
  The undisputed queen of the catwalk, the one and only Naomi Campbell, joins forces with the fashion Maison BOSS […]
Milan Fashion Week: The Official Calendar of the Fall/Winter 2024-25 Collections
  In February, as we know, Milan prepares to shine brighter than ever with its Fashion Week. From February 20th […]
De Siena, Ever Greener Luxury: The New Fall/Winter 2024-25 Collection
  The fashion month has finally begun to unveil the new and much-anticipated Fall/Winter 2024-25 collections. Not just runway shows; […]
Valentine’s Day: Last-Minute Gifts for Him and Her (Even the Spiciest Ones)
Valentine’s Day, as we all know, is the celebration of love and sweetness, and it’s the perfect occasion to show […]
New York Fashion Week: Tommy Hilfiger’s Fall/Winter 2024-25 Collection
The most anticipated moment of the year for all fashion enthusiasts has arrived: New York Fashion Week, which officially kicks […]
Non ci sono contenuti in archivio da mostrare